We’re In This Together (Thankfully)

I ALMOST added “All” in this title, a la High School Musical (no, I will not provide a link.  I would like to retain a little dignity.), but then didn’t.  But then typed the previous sentence.  Ha!  Sigh.

ANYWAYS, there are some exciting things happening in the Kenny household… Patrick was accepted into the Executive MBA program at Vanderbilt (What? Crazy! So proud!), which he will start next fall…which means we are moving back to Nashville!

This change brings many emotions for both of us.  We are anxious to be near close friends and family again, but we have truly treasured these sweet months living in Chattanooga.  It’s where we fell in love and where we had our first home together.

Subsequently, my artwork has taken on a somewhat documentary element as of late.  I find myself wanting to incorporate images of the exterior and interior of the house – especially in my mixed media pieces.

“Soon But Not Yet”, mixed media on canvas, 20 x 20 inches

I think there is a part of me that wants to make sure that I always remember this precious time – being newlyweds, exploring a new city together, starting our foundation, living in our first home together.

Below is the latest piece, titled “Remember”.

“Remember”, mixed media on canvas, 20 x 20 inches

I want to remember my wedding day.

I want to remember our first house.

I want to remember cleaning our first house.

I want to remember our covenant with each other and what that means in our everyday living.

I want to remember what it was like before kids. (No, we are not expecting!)

I want to remember everything.

I am so thankful for so many things this Thanksgiving, but especially now in this time of transition…and seeing how God has gone before us and prepared a place for us – in Nashville, and, ultimately, with Him eternally.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

