Art in Autumn Show Prep

Things are starting to pile up – in a good way!

I was fortunate enough to be juried into the Art In Autumn show in Weaverville, NC this year!  Weaverville is just outside of Asheville, and puts on this great art fair every year.  I also found out I have a corner booth, which means I have an extra wall on which to hang my work!  Awesome!

I decided to make a sign to hang in the tent that matches the font on my website – which is called “Amperzand”.  I am so in love with this font that I have also made it the font to my signage that will hang under each piece.  HA!

Here is the before and after.  I had to do some serious measuring and cropping in Photoshop to make sure it would fit just right on the wooden plaque I bought at Hobby Lobby.  I primed it, sanded it, then painted the whole thing gray, then traced the font onto the wood using graphite paper, then carefully painted the lettering in a BARELY off-white grey.  I just couldn’t do pure white.  Too harsh.

Before…

After!

My notecards that I ordered came in a few days ago – time to put them together in groups of 5.

Now came the time to decide how to lay out the tent.  Did I mention this was outdoors?  Every vendor has to have a 10′ x 10′ white tent in which to display his or her work.  More photos of the actual setup on the day of…but for now…

Not QUITE to scale, but good enough

Being a visual person (DUH), it is very helpful for me to visualize the layout to make sure it all fits correctly and looks good together.  I like being able to move pieces around manually until I get everything where I want it.  We actually did something very similar for planning the layout of the wedding reception, too, and it was very helpful!

Of course, through all the craziness of this week, there is always time to play with the dog. 🙂

Patrick playing with Murphy

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

