Fluidity

Chandelier diptych (each canvas 8 x 8”)

Several months ago after talking with my husband (still so fun saying that!) about my artwork (which is he is so supportive of, by the way!), I was saying how I wanted my work to go in a more fluid direction.  I still love pattern, and will always use it, but I find myself wanting to create more fluidity in my work and create more transparent washes of color – almost disturbing the pattern a little bit.

This has been an interesting challenge with doing mixed media, as the very nature of it lends itself to hard edges and difficult transitions.  One solution to this is creating more drawing elements.  This diptych, shown above, will eventually include a drawing of this chandelier that I will leave the pencil lines and bring out the highlights with white acrylic.

Here is another one I am working on – with architectural drawing elements and collage.

Detail of “Making It Our Own” – about 3/4 of the way done

I also just completed a new circular painting called “Alter” with these same principles in mind.  I wanted the figure to BECOME the background – as if to fade away.  The intact part that remains is the “alter” of the heart.

Another challenge with this piece was the pose.  I didn’t want it to look seductive, but rather vulnerable.  Hopefully I succeeded.  There is a vulnerability that is happening in my own life with being a newlywed, but I am also still CONSTANTLY learning to be vulnerable spiritually and not let my heart become hardened.

This piece is all paint – no drawing or collage.  As “old school” as this sounds – I still love painting the figure.  It is challenging (especially using acrylic!!) and time-consuming, but the end result is worth it.

“Alter”, acrylic on canvas, 24” diameter

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Fluidity”

  1. David McLeish Says:

    Wow -Alter – is my all time favorite – Trade?????????

Leave a Reply

