New Last Name and New Beginnings

Our wedding at Covenant Presbyterian – photo by Cali Ashton Photography

As promised, things got busy, things got wonderful, and now we are married (with GREAT photos by Cali Ashton Photography!)  I can’t imagine spending my life with anyone else.  He is my best friend.  He makes me laugh til I cry.  He is a spiritual leader.  He is my love. 🙂  BUT, I digress…

I have been a busy little bee in the studio – with the help of my new studio buddy, Murphy… 🙂

Here is Murphy doing what he does best – laying down, looking cute, and most likely thinking about food.

As I mentioned in earlier posts, I have been experimenting with some new forms and cranking out some new mixed media pieces, which have been really fun and challenging.  I have been phasing out self-portraiture in my work, and the mixed media pieces have offered a nice transition into new ideas and figures.

First piece with a chandelier…which I liked a lot.

I am also getting ready for the Art in Autumn show in Weaverville, NC, which will be my first outdoor show!  This means I (well, WE) had to buy a new white 10’x 10′ tent, and mesh wall panels on which to hang my work.  This was not cheap, so we are praying for good sales!

Spode Blue Italian

I am also expecting, as I have mentioned before, to use this “nesting” time as inspiration as well – which includes but is not limited to – our new everyday china, “Blue Italian” by Spode, birdcages, candles, furniture, and so on…

Birdcages on the mantle

Also, I went to a used bookstore here in Chattanooga (that I can’t remember the name of…oops) where I bought a book on fish and another about the Rococo period – both of which I plan on using as collage elements in the mixed media pieces.  The idea of a school of fish aimlessly being tossed to and fro by the current appeals to me for some reason.

Pictures of fish I cut out

I am also about halfway through a circular painting, too, which I will post about later.  I plan on always returning to this form in some way or another.  It’s too much a part of me.  Until then…

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

