Chairs and Other Obsessions

Lately I have been STRONGLY drawn to a few different types of imagery lately – chairs, ghost images of houses, and flowers.  Well, ok – I have always been drawn to flowers…but the attraction is a lot stronger lately.

My notebook of cutout collections

It is always fascinating to me how the subconscious works itself out – if I let it.  When I am in an art-making frenzy for a show (or just in general) I always love seeing how similar motifs appear over a series.

For instance, I just recently discovered that a couple of years ago (while I was still single) I kept painting myself.  Alone.  In pretty dresses.  Not just any pretty dresses though – old BRIDESMAID’S dresses – which, at the time, were the fanciest dresses I owned – which was the original reason I chose them.

However, I was also fighting the loneliness, self-doubt, and spiritual struggles that came with me wanting to already be married, but still being single.  Looking back, I can see the struggles and triumphs that I faced as a single woman wanting to be in a different life situation, and it came out through my art.

“A Certain Place”, acrylic on canvas, 30” in diameter, 2009

I see it in the poses of the figures.  I see it in the dresses that I chose.  I see it in the color palette.  I see it in the highly patterned backgrounds juxtaposed with the realistic figure.

I am excited to see what these new obsessions – chairs, flowers, mixed media instead of straight painting, ghost images of houses – coupled with so many life changes – moving to a new city, being engaged, being married – will manifest in the coming months leading up to the wedding and beyond.

MORE CHAIRS!

I have always loved cutting things out and arranging them together.  I used to do it as more of a way to sketch out ideas for paintings, but these are starting to take me in a new direction.

I cut these out of an old botanical illustration book.

Some of these cutouts have been in my notebook for years, and I am just now using them.  I am quite the packrat when it comes to art materials, which is serving me well right now in this new phase of life and art.  Some of these images that I cut out years ago have a completely different meaning to me now.

Love the Bleeding Heart – will have to use that flower carefully.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Chairs and Other Obsessions”

  1. In progress… « Says:

    […] « Chairs and Other Obsessions […]

Leave a Reply

